PDA

View Full Version : What next? (4x5)

kuparikettu
7-Jun-2015, 17:29
I started my large format photography journey about two and half years ago by buying a Penta 45F (Wista 45 clone) from Ebay. For my first lens I bought a Super Angulon 90/8.
Now, 2½ years later I think I have gotten a bit more serious about LF. I'm still a beginner though, having exposed less than 30 sheets.

My main interest in 4x5 is color landscape photography. That's what makes me pack my gear and hop in my car. I do hope though that in the future I could go further away from a parking lot but due to my current equipment that hasn't been really possible. My equipment consists of the camera, spotmeter, two 2x sheet holders, 90mm SA 90/8 and a heavy tripod which is apparently Gitzo s.5 Tele Studex and which I got for free.

The experience I have had thus far of LF photography is that it's fun and at times frustrating. Fun, because many of my photos have turned out good. Frustrating, because my tripod is so heavy and because the camera is slowly falling apart and knobs for movements etc. aren't sturdy enough. Every time I set up my camera it's a bit hassle and I wonder if something will break this time. It's a cheap clone camera after all :cool: Other than that it has served me well, even if using 90mm lens with it doesn't seem like it was meant to be and the camera doesn't have anything to hold a black cloth nor does it have a too bright ground glass (though that might have something to do with f.8 lens as well).