PDA

View Full Version : Empty Film Boxes

Wsufans
3-Jun-2015, 12:54
I am just starting to go down the large format wormhole. So far I have made only 14 exposures, 6 Ektar 100 and 8 HP5+ so I haven't yet generated any empty boxes. I have to take the whole film holder to the lab. Searching this forum as well as others and talking to the guy at the lab empty film boxes appear to be a scarce and horded commodity.

I guess I will have to expose more film and generate my own empty boxes. Something I would have never guessed would be the case but then again I am new to this format.

Thanks for providing a shoulder to lean on for a bit until I really get on my feet.

**PRO**

NoBob
3-Jun-2015, 12:58
I suggest getting some black bags (B&H sells them) to put your used film in till you get some boxes. It's what I do. I just double bag (one black bag inside the other) the exposed sheets.

ShannonG
3-Jun-2015, 13:18
Or process them yourself,,,you are right on the hoarder thing i cant seem to throw mine away ,i have well over 200 boxes...just shoot more film..

Wsufans
3-Jun-2015, 13:27
OK Interesting approach thanks. But I guess this is a hoarder crowd which is OK. Yes I will be shooting more film as I need to learn the finer points of my Linhof Teckina but have to take it a step at a time. Shoot a few sheets process analyze the result add to my knowledge base adjust my technique and shoot again.

I also don't have the set up to process myself, (yet). If I do process it would be only B&W.

Right now I only have the 150mm convertible lens. Saving up for a 90mm next.

StoneNYC
3-Jun-2015, 13:57
I don't have any 8x10 extras just yet, I've not shot 125 or so sheets of 8x10... Lol!

But it's a lot of color so that's sectioned off so I can stay organized between the E-6, C-41, and Acros100/HP5+/TMY-2/EFKE IR820