PDA

View Full Version : Looking for info on my Gasc and Charconnet lens

Tony Kearney
8-May-2015, 16:54
Hi,

I'm new to the forum so please forgive me if I'm asking the obvious. A few years ago I bought a brass lens from a camera store, they had no idea what it was and so I bought it for a good price, because I liked the look of it and wanted some lenses to play with wet plate photography which I was just getting into. Anyway somehow I worked out that it was a Gasc and Charconnet lens. It didn't come with waterhouse stops so now I'm wondering how I should determine it's f-stop value (without the Waterhouse stops) as, in the short term, I'll be happy to use it fully open with 4x5 film anyway. I know I'm sounding like a complete novice but any help would be appreciated.

Tony

pierre506
8-May-2015, 18:48
French made.
Founded in 1860, finished in 1890.
"Portrait lens patent" means that the lens was exported to the US or English market.
"Quick Acting" means larger aperture for children and portrait shootings.
Congratulations, Tony.
It's a good Petzval lens.

goamules
8-May-2015, 18:49
These are nice, fast lenses. I have two, and keep them. It should be about F3.6. You can tell by holding it about 5 inches from a wall opposite a window. Point it towards that window while moving it in and out away from the wall. Get a tree or kangaroo in the yard to focus on the wall. Measure from the wall to the waterhouse slot. That's the focal length. Now hold the lens up to the window, looking into the FRONT. Hold your ruler to the front and measure the apparent circle of light you can see. That's the entrance pupil. Now divide focal length by entrance pupil for the lens speed.

Tony Kearney
9-May-2015, 05:03