PDA

View Full Version : First LF advice

grantgardner
5-May-2015, 08:01
Hello,

I'm a freshman in college and have been interested in the potential for large format (4x5 since it's the most readily available) for a while now. I converted to film after having a DSLR and lenses stolen and have been using two Rolleiflexes (6x6 negatives, an automat with a single-coated Tessar and 2.8E with a Zeiss Planar single coated lens. I've been impressed with the quality I've been getting from those and the overall sharpness, which has made me curious about trying out large format. Monorail cameras seem too bulky and difficult so I'd primarily be looking at a compact Field/view/press camera. I would like to spend about a max of $600~ but this is flexible to a point. Right now I'm most drawn to the Crown Graphics because of their versatility. I understand they don't have as many movements but being used to a fixed lens on a Rolleiflex I don't think this would be that much of an issue. Would I be better off getting a crown graphic camera and lens (optar 135 is most common) or going with a budget field camera and a new lens. Handholding is not that important, but having the option would be nice. I'm more concerned with image sharpness than with resolution and want to make sure the negatives would be just as sharp as I'm used to shooting with my Rolleiflexes. I'm primarily wanting to shoot landscapes. Thank you!

So Crown Graphic with Optar 135

Or this field camera (I'm on a budget, once again)
http://www.theintrepidcamera.co.uk
With a more modern lens of about 90-135mm

Or stick with the rolleiflexes

IanG
5-May-2015, 08:10
Welcome, as someone who has and uses a Crown Graphic occasionally I'd suggest a field camera or a Super Graphic because they have better movements, the Crown & Speed Graphics are quite limiting. A Super Graphic is easy to use hand-held and can be found at reasonable prices.