PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: how best to use a 9x12 ICA Reflex?

ivanlietaert
3-May-2015, 06:21
I'm a total beginner at large format photography. I have bought an old ICA Dresden Reflex camera with a Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 180mm F4.5 lens, which after cleaning, seems to be in mint condition. The camera takes 9X12 film. The camera seems to function alright and I have managed to clean most of it, inside and outside.

I was planning to modify the camera by putting a Belair Instant Back on it. Do you think this is an ok thing to do, or should I keep the camera in its original form?

Any advice/opinion is welcome.

Jac@stafford.net
3-May-2015, 06:55
You would end up with ~4" x 2.5" exposure if that's good with you.
Be very careful with the modification so that the reflex remains
faithful, accurate or you just have a bad Lomo camera. (I do not
know if the back can be modified properly. Someone else can
help us.

Oren Grad
3-May-2015, 08:50
Welcome to the forum!

The shape of the Belair instant back is designed to wrap around the Belair camera body. So it's tricky to adapt it to other cameras in a way that puts the film plane in the same place as it was originally in the camera you're attaching it to. If you want that, you'll need to do major surgery on the Belair back, the camera, or both. Or you can attach it with some sort of spacing adaptor, and accept that you'll need to make a focus correction between what the focusing screen tells you and what the back needs. Or, you can contrive some sort of auxiliary focusing back that puts a new focusing screen in the same plane as the Belair puts the film.

If you look on the web, you can find others who have done Belair back adaptations to various cameras.

Good luck!

Bill_1856
3-May-2015, 10:40
9x12 is a nice size of film -- plenty of B&W available. Lots of holders available for it used and inexpensive.
I'd keep what you've got, and enjoy it.

IanG
3-May-2015, 11:10