PDA

View Full Version : Wet Plate Developer (How much to use)

kansasjhawk
29-Apr-2015, 11:41
I'm just starting out with wet plate and will be shooting 3.5" x 4x5" plates. My question is.....how much developer should I use for a single plate (volume wise)? I feel like it won't take too much volume to cover the plate.

goamules
29-Apr-2015, 11:48
You are right, you don't use much, just enough to cover the plate. Question for you: do you have a wetplate guide or manual? If you ask random people on the internet or facebook, you'll get dozens of answers. It's best to just take a workshop, or buy one guide from an expert. Like John Coffer, Quinn Jacobson, Will Dunniway....

kansasjhawk
29-Apr-2015, 11:51
I don't have a guide. I just bought the Bostick and Sullivan 4x5 kit. It comes with some instructions on mixing but doesn't have much to say on the volume to use. I suppose I can use some trial and error but a good starting point would work too. I suppose I could just try with a certain volume of water to see how much I would need.

Ari
29-Apr-2015, 13:29
For 4x5 plates, I started out using about 15 mL of developer.
As Garrett says, there are a multitude of questions, answers and opinions when starting out with wet plate; best to get a guide book or video series and stick with that method before adapting your own techniques.
I bought Quinn Jacobson's book and it is excellent; he also has a number of You Tube videos available.

Tracy Storer
29-Apr-2015, 15:10
The Collodion Forum (http://www.collodion.com/) would be a good place to ask this one, although we do have many knowledgable wet plate people here.

Mark Sawyer
29-Apr-2015, 17:34
A lot depends on your technique. Some use a tray with walls, some use a tray without walls, and some don't use a tray at all. But however you do it, you'll have your answer by your second or third plate.

davehyams
29-Apr-2015, 17:54