PDA

View Full Version : LF Studio Flashbulbs last night: Selfish images

Tin Can
26-Apr-2015, 11:34
At 2 AM, I got the bug to start shooting selfies with flashbulbs.

I am no expert at flashbulbs and tried 2 different kinds and made 2 brackets with each type. 4 shots all scannable. The best is below. 8X10 Ektascan, P5 @ f45 1/8th. No PS, no Curve, no spotting

I guessed at GN and exposure from the paucity of info online. Most of my bulbs are unmarked and came without the box, which has the instructions...

Following a Mortensen scheme, this is one small Agfa BC (battery/capacitor) flash unit that still works. I have a few that don't. Bad capacitors.

I used a bare bulb on myself, but will use the Graflite with double plastic shatter shield on any other living creature, maybe not plants...

First time doing this and it is amazing to watch how slow the bulb burns and the color, which is far different than any strobe I have seen.

Peter De Smidt
26-Apr-2015, 11:50
Fun stuff, Randy. I might be able to scrounge up some flash bulbs for you.

Jac@stafford.net
26-Apr-2015, 12:27
[...]it is amazing to watch how slow the bulb burns

Imagine the output of a big flashbulb that burns for 1.75 seconds.

We should speak in terms of lumen-seconds for flash so we can wrap our heads around their massive output compared to anything electronic.

Tin Can
26-Apr-2015, 12:29
Fun stuff, Randy. I might be able to scrounge up some flash bulbs for you.

Thanks Peter, I actually have secondary use for used flashbulbs. a close friend uses them in her sculpture. She wants all I produce, Here is her work, but she prefers the interesting shapes of used ones.

Tin Can
26-Apr-2015, 12:35
Imagine the output of a big flashbulb that burns for 1.75 seconds.

We should speak in terms of lumen-seconds for flash so we can wrap our heads around their massive output compared to anything electronic.