PDA

View Full Version : ULF 7X17 What size Dark Cloth? What type? I'm new to daylight...

Tin Can
9-Apr-2015, 20:09
I shoot primarily in studio or 4x5 outside with a flip open GG viewer.

Now I want to go outside with 7X17 and only buy or make one dark cloth, not buy 2 when I figure out what's up. The ones I use inside are not going to work.

I have looked at Harrison Silver Classic Dark Cloth on eBay and fortunately looked at B&H where they sell for less than eBay...

Maybe medium is Ok or do I need a complete spinnaker? The large? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/446773-REG/Harrison_2036_Silver_Classic_Dark_Cloth.html/prm/alsVwDtl

I like that it's waterproof, it rains often here, silver for sun and has weighted corners.

Anybody use these?

Steve Sherman
9-Apr-2015, 20:55
Based on the measurements of the large I must have the medium. Works perfectly on my phillips 7x17 the velcro side of the Harrison D cloth is somewhat cinched and when stretched fits nicely around the camera and has ample coverage for the 7x17 ground glass. Plus it is very light weight
$100.00 for a D cloth seems crazy anyway

Tin Can
9-Apr-2015, 21:08
Based on the measurements of the large I must have the medium. Works perfectly on my phillips 7x17 the velcro side of the Harrison D cloth is somewhat cinched and when stretched fits nicely around the camera and has ample coverage for the 7x17 ground glass. Plus it is very light weight
$100.00 for a D cloth seems crazy anyway

Thanks Steve, window shopping.

I like to research and get opinion. The big one does sound more like a hazard than a help. I used to working under dimmed lights with only my subject lit, now I'm turning on all the light and experimenting.

Tornados tonight, not good for sails.

pierre506
9-Apr-2015, 21:17
Dark cloth jack is better choice.
I bought the material(cloth) from a bellows maker to make my dark cloth jack for 12x20 camera.
It's very light.

Tin Can
9-Apr-2015, 21:26
Dark cloth jack is better choice.