PDA

View Full Version : Need a lesson in NYC from a professional who knows Wet Plate photography with flash

YHP
4-Apr-2015, 13:46
Hi,

I'm a professional photographer and I've been using a medium format with film then a digital Hasselblad camera for the past 15 years.

I would like to start shooting on Wet Plates. I just purchased an 8x10 Ansco View Camera that I'm trying to use with my flash lights.
My first trial did not produce anything on the plate :-( so I am looking for someone who could come to my place for a training session to see what I am doing wrong.

If you are in New York City or know someone there that could help please reach out.

Raya

Andrew Plume
4-Apr-2015, 13:57
hello Raya

check out The Penumbra Foundation

http://www.penumbrafoundation.org/

one of their 'main guys' is Geoffrey Berliner who is also a member on here

regards
andrew

jnantz
4-Apr-2015, 14:13
Hi,

I'm a professional photographer and I've been using a medium format with film then a digital Hasselblad camera for the past 15 years.

I would like to start shooting on Wet Plates. I just purchased an 8x10 Ansco View Camera that I'm trying to use with my flash lights.
My first trial did not produce anything on the plate :-( so I am looking for someone who could come to my place for a training session to see what I am doing wrong.

If you are in New York City or know someone there that could help please reach out.

Raya

hi raya

you need to replace your regular bulbs with bright UV bulbs
wet plate isn't panchromatic, and requires different light than the modern
stuff ( film and paper ).

good luck !
john

YHP
4-Apr-2015, 14:32
Thanks Andrew!

YHP
4-Apr-2015, 14:35
Hi John,
Thanks for taking the time to reply
So if I'm shooting with these Bowens, http://www.bowensdirect.com/index.php/gemini-500pro.html it won't work with the tintypes? I was wondering if the measure would be different and I needed to set up a stronger light, but did not expect it not to work at all.
Raya

Joe Smigiel