PDA

View Full Version : What lathe do I need?

RSalles
26-Mar-2015, 08:53
Gentlemen,

Coming in a hurry from another thread: does anybody have an idea of what size or type of lathe do I need to make myself any size of flange and retaining rings for lenses in barrel and shutters?
I have zero experience with mechanical lathes but have worked a bit with wood lathes, and maybe I can talk with some people in my town to have a crash-course, just to get started and go ahead by myself from there,

Thank you,

Renato

jp
26-Mar-2015, 09:08
You will want a lathe with a big enough 3-jaw chuck to hold the piece of round metal you are making a flange/ring from. Most of them are reversible for extra room. It will also be important for the lathe to be able to cut the threads you'll want. Most of them have spec sheets telling which thread pitches they are built to provide. The lathe will move the tool at a speed necessary to cut a thread pitch via a separate but connected shaft and gears for that purpose. They are not tough to learn, do get a couple hours of help from someone. Safety concerns should be similar to the wood lathe.

R.K
26-Mar-2015, 09:15
And the lathe must be able to cut metric treads, because most of those treads are metric.

Jac@stafford.net
26-Mar-2015, 09:54
This does not answer your question, but have you considered a universal mount?

From a Finish member - link (http://www.kolumbus.fi/uusilehto/img/irisclamp.jpg).

New versions are being made again.

Jim C.
26-Mar-2015, 10:22
Metal Lathe choice is a matter of what you can afford and space, and the largest size flange you anticipate in making.
Threaded flanges for barrel lenses can vary from 2 inch to 5 inches or more.
Google for threading on a lathe, lots of info out there.

You should also consider a four jaw lathe chuck instead of a three jaw, the four jaw will grip round and square material
I use mine to bore out lens boards.

imagedowser
26-Mar-2015, 10:55