PDA

View Full Version : linhof karden film holders

Pamelageewhizz
13-Mar-2015, 17:53
Hello,
I'm looking at a Linhof Kardan 8x10 on ebay. In the listing it doesn't mention film holders so probably not; I have emailed the seller to see but haven't heard back yet. Does anyone know if it takes only specific brands of holders other than the Linholf? If so, what type? I don't want to spend money on something I won't be able to use.
I am a beginner at LF. I've done 35mm since 1979 but never LF. I'm currently taking a class in it at our community college and love it!

StoneNYC
13-Mar-2015, 19:45
DOH! I can't read apparently...

Leonard Robertson
13-Mar-2015, 20:28
Searching eBay, even with Worldwide location, I see only three 8X10 Linhofs. All are new enough that they use "modern" 8X10 sheet film holders.

If camera weight is an issue for you, you might so a search for the weight of this model. I know the 8X10 Linhofs from the 1950s were terribly heavy. These newer models appear to be lighter weight, but it still may be worth knowing exactly what the weight is. Linhof monorails tended to be designed as studio cameras so light weight wasn't as important as making a sturdy camera.

Len

Tin Can
13-Mar-2015, 23:40
I have 2 of the 8x10 1950's Color Kardan Linhof's which are very heavy as a studio camera should be for stability.

Mine take standard 8x10 film holders and surely any newer Kardan 8X10 does also.

That said, I love mine, they are very high quality, but only buy old cameras that are complete and working as parts are sometimes difficult, except for bellows and ground glass which have many suppliers.

If your dream camera ends auction in 16 hours on USA eBay, it sure looks nice to me, and has a nice lens shutter combo. But that is a studio camera and not the best for field work. Keep that in mind.

If I was buying that camera, I would make sure I was willing to gamble a little, and be prepared to send it back and lose the shipping fees.