PDA

View Full Version : New to LF Questions

appletree
12-Mar-2015, 07:57
Hi all,
So a few questions. Testing out the Mod54 negative holder for my Patterson tank. Any suggestions to practice this without my nice and brand new HP5+ film. Perhaps find someone to send me expired sheets or wasted/ruined negatives?

And I have been using D76 for a few years now. I will be honest, I sort of get lazy and often either use an entire batch back to back (1:1) or end up waiting past 6 months and dump half a batch out. So, I unfortunately seem to develop in waves. Stockpile 20 rolls and then develop them in a week or two.

Should I continue using D76, or try another developer as I venture into LF. I see Pyrocat and many others mentioned often, Rodinal..I think?
I have used Mirophen to develop some Delta 3200, but for the most part been a one trick pony since a) didn't want to waste a lot of chemicals and b) it was easier (to me) to just have one set standard.

If I am to develop 6 shots at a time in the tank (or less), then what if I only end up with x amount of film holders. Do I just unload the holders (obviously in the dark) and keep the exposed shots in a film/paper box in the fridge until I develop. Perhaps multiple boxes in the event I need to push/pull various shots?

I guess I will have to either notch or mark my holders in the event I need to push/pull. I think I read/printed information on this from the homepage...tons of great information.

Hmm, I think that is the main questions I have for now. Thanks for any advice/help.

Regards,
Austin

Edit: Mainly, just any specific questions/advice regarding LF itself. I am fairly confident I have developing, washing, fixing, etc. Only if I can every full get rid of drying spots that occasionally pop up (even when I use 2-3 drops of photo-flo) on my negatives.

fishbulb
12-Mar-2015, 10:03
Hi all,