PDA

View Full Version : PMK - how does it work?

Kimberly Anderson
4-Mar-2015, 22:59
I've been using PMK for about six years now and love using it with just about every film I've shot in that time. As I was mixing up a fresh batch tonight before processing my 12x20's from today, I was wondering how it works. I mean, I know it works WELL, I'm just wondering how exactly does it *work*. I am using a double-strength mixture of PMK for my negs that I am making salted paper prints with right now. The film looks AMAZING and I'm thinking of standardizing on that dilution instead of the 1:2:100. Apparently Rollo Pyro is essentially double-strength PMK?

I am not a chemist, but I'm trying to understand more about the chemistry of photography. I had to hunt for some Sodium Bisulfate tonight even though have about 50 lbs of Sodium Sulfite. I did a little digging and understand somewhat the difference between those two and did not substitute the SB with SS.

Anyway, as I was mixing I was just wondering how it all works and when you mix the A+B, what is it about the Kodalk that kicks the A mixture into action.

So, just curious if anyone can give a PMK chemistry 101 primer. :)

Andrew O'Neill
4-Mar-2015, 23:09
Do you have Gordon Hutchings' book, The Book of Pyro? He created PMK. You can get them cheap on Amazon.

Kimberly Anderson
4-Mar-2015, 23:11
I have that book as well as The Darkroom Cookbook.

Doremus Scudder
5-Mar-2015, 01:07
Almost all developers have:

Developing agent(s) (PMK has Metol and Pyrogallol)
Preservative (usually sodium sulfite; to scavenge oxygen and prevent oxidation)
Restrainer (potassium bromide, to prevent development of unexposed parts of the neg and thus prevent fogging)
Activator (an alkaline, since most developing agents only work in an alkaline environment. This is the Kodalk in your PMK).

That's basically it. A developer works by chemically changing silver halides in your film that have been exposed to light into metallic silver.