PDA

View Full Version : Getting that result on a tintype

YHP
1-Mar-2015, 18:43
Hello,

Can you give me some advice on how to achieve that special effect on a tintype?

Thank you!!

Bill_1856
1-Mar-2015, 19:07
lacquer it.

Tracy Storer
1-Mar-2015, 19:32
I suggest you try the Collodion forum, those just look like funky pours to me, but I'm no expert. The great irony of the Collodion renaissance is that defects and artifacts that would have caused a 19th C worker to reject a plate are very popular now, and hailed as the hallmarks of the process. I have a small collection of vintage plates, mostly portraits, and they are all very very clean. Muybridge, Watkins, Weed, etc, even Julia Margaret Cameron, who was notoriously not the best technical practitioner, would have rejected the vast majority of todays plates as a matter of course.
Don't get me wrong, I walk both sides of this particular street. Good luck achieving the look you're after !

vinny
1-Mar-2015, 19:47
Sloppy work, that's how.

YHP
1-Mar-2015, 20:34
Thanks!

lacquer it.

YHP
1-Mar-2015, 20:35
That's what I thought, but wasn't sure. Thank you

YHP
1-Mar-2015, 20:36
got it, thanks!

C. D. Keth
1-Mar-2015, 20:37
What effect are you talking about? The plates you posted have a host of problems and I don't know which one you like.

Jim Fitzgerald
1-Mar-2015, 22:09
Sloppy work, that's how.

+1

Monty McCutchen
2-Mar-2015, 11:59