PDA

View Full Version : Applying a Sinar Copal Shutter on Taylor Hobson Cooke 325mm and Chamonix whole plate

muratsariyar
27-Feb-2015, 14:28
Hello everyone, I have been reading this forum as a guest for some time (since I bought my Chamonix whole plate camera and 12" Taylor Hobson Cooke f/4.5 portrait lens series ii).

I have been making ambrotypes with this setup but now I need to shoot on film as I want to learn the process of exposure and development relationships.

I need to have a consistent shutter speed as you may guess as I will be working with Ilford Fp4 (125 iso) 6.5x8.5 inch film.

Things I can do is buying a Sinar Copal Shutter or a Packard Shutter or buy a new lens Something like a Schneider.

What I am after is buying a Sinar Copal Shutter but not sure if I will be able to or some wood worker can apply it to my camera (or I even don't know if it will fit my lens's diameter). (I am pretty new to large format cameras)

My lens is already on a Sinar lens board

Any help or knowledge will be appreciated. Will see if the things I'm planning in my head is applicable.

Respects and love for all.

www.muratsariyar.com

Steven Tribe
27-Feb-2015, 15:21
I am sure your don't want to "adapt" your Chamonix to a take a "behind the front standard" Sinar/copal.

If you are going to use the 12" TTH series II as a sole portrait lens (highly recommended!) a front mounted curtain shutter is the easiest to mount and use.

I enclose an example with speeds up to 1/90th. Don't be put off by the controls, they are really very simple. There is a single screw to mount on the lens barrel. The example I show will fit on barrel sizes from 3.5" tp 4".

They are quite cheap and there are people here who can repair if necessary.

Peter De Smidt
27-Feb-2015, 15:26
Steven, can those do flash sync?

muratsariyar
27-Feb-2015, 15:38
Thanks for your interest in this,