PDA

View Full Version : Edge fogging on large prints.

AndrewHall
18-Feb-2015, 18:58
Hi All,
Anybody had problems with a yellow edge fog in Ilford MG FB Classic on a roll? (42" wide)
The first few on the roll were perfectly white right up to the edges, then I noticed a yellow fog/stain appearing along the edges.
I changed all the chemistry (Dev, stop, fix and hypo) and the problem persists. I'm using Arista print developer diluted at 1:9.
I figured if the paper was fogged, then the outer parts, that is, the first prints would be most affected.

bob carnie
19-Feb-2015, 06:58
I bought a roll of the new Classic 42 inch x 100 fr cut it in half and have seen no issues..

In fact I have been using Ilford Fiber base in my Darkroom since 1991 and over 25 years have never, and I mean never
seen an issue with their product.. small , medium or roll product.
I go through quite a bit of product for my clients and I have stuck with their product line because it is so consistent.

Fog would darken not yellow I would think.... Yellowing may be due to insufficient fix or fresh fix... but you seem to have done fresh chemical.

You can touch base with Ilford.. and send them samples of your problems , they actually are very detailed in customer service and any problem they
will try to help you with.

AndrewHall
19-Feb-2015, 09:50
Thanks for the reply Bob. I've also been using Ilford paper since the 1980's and never come across a quality issue. I figured it would be something I'd missed or done wrong.
I'll keep looking at my process..

jp
19-Feb-2015, 12:06
I think you may be having a fixing issue. A light fogging issue would create gray/black marks in the shape of light beams.
Perhaps use TF5 fixer which works quick and does not require a hypo eliminator bath.

AndrewHall
19-Feb-2015, 12:23
Thanks JP, I'll give that a try.

Drew Wiley
19-Feb-2015, 13:51