PDA

View Full Version : CARL ZEISS JENA TESAR 4,5/360 (vs. Schneider Kreuznach 360mm Symmar 5:6/360mm)

stiganas
18-Feb-2015, 12:53
I found in Bucharest shops some forgotten CARL ZEISS JENA TESAR 4,5/360 and 4,5/300.

The lenses are mint (new in box) with flange and the price is app. 150USD and 125USD. I am very tempted, the price seems low and the glass is huge and beautiful.

but:

- the lens are in barrel - no shutter
- I already have a Schneider Kreuznach 360mm Symmar 5:6/360mm (on the way from France) and a Nikkor-W 300/5.6 both in shutter.

So, I'm asking:
- it is a good idea to buy those lenses (or only one) ?
- the image will be different enough (compared with Schneider and Nikkor) ?
- how can I practically use those lenses without a shutter ?

I am just a hobbyist and shoot mainly portraits of friends with an Agfa Ansco 8x10 (and 4x5, 5x7).

Thank you, Stefan

SergeiR
18-Feb-2015, 13:48
Image will be different from Plasmats you getting. Tessars are older formula and different character. If you like a bit softer-ish look - you might wanna grab one of those. I'd go with 360, but its up to you.

But then for soft look you might use your Symmar, judging from aperture it is convertible one, isn't it?

jp
18-Feb-2015, 18:05
Tessars are cheap and really good. You'd probably want a shutter. For 1 speed + bulb, a packard shutter is most common. If you work in low light, a cap or darkslide is adequate low speed shutter. For more light, you'd have to rig up something.

stiganas
19-Feb-2015, 05:57
Thank you. The lens are huge, only the cap or the darkslide seems practical, the Compound 5 look small. Maybe I can use paper negatives or Arista Ortho Lithro Film, slow enough to have exposures in seconds. The Xray film (my favorite for the moment) is fast.

Yes the 360mm Schneider is convertible but I think the bellow draw is huge. I played with a 135mm Symnar convertible and converted (to 210) was almost at the limit of my Cambo.

stiganas
20-Feb-2015, 12:39