PDA

View Full Version : Need information about Seroco 5X7 drop bed camera

rrunnertexas
5-Feb-2015, 19:06
I'm new to Large Format, so please forgive my ignorance...

I just purchased a really nice looking Seroco drop bed 5X7 camera from that famous auction site.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261720962946?_trksid=p2060778.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

There are a few questions that I hope more educated forum members can answer for me. Maybe I should have asked before buying? lol

Where can I find more information about this camera? I really would like to find a manual and history about it. Anyone have a link to a Sears Catalog that shows this model?

Does it use the dry plates or sheet film. If it is set up for dry plates, what do I need to do to use with with my 5X7 sheet film?

It has not arrived at my door yet, so I am just going by the photos posted.

Thanks for the help,
David

Tim Meisburger
5-Feb-2015, 20:45
From what I can see the camera looks complete. The holders that came with it are dry plate holders that will work with the camera. To use them with film you will need plate to film adapters (essentially a metal sleeve that fits in the space for the plate). If you are lucky, they will already be inside the holders, and you will not need to do anything. If they are not there and you just want to shoot now, you can probably make sleeves out of thin cardboard (I've done that for 6x9 holders).

Lovely camera! Good luck!

Mark Sampson
I believe Seroco brand cameras were made by Conley. Other people who know more about this may speak up. It might help to look at cameraeccentric.com.

c.d.ewen
David:

Start with this site (http://www.piercevaubel.com/cam/catalogs.htm), and just keep digging.

Alas, cameraeccentric seems to be a "lenses only" source these days.

Charley

Bill_1856
5-Feb-2015, 20:59
Nice camera. The only real problem is that it is OLD, and things are gonna go wrong with it.
Be extra gentle -- it will save you a lot of grief.

rrunnertexas