PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 recommendation for wetplate

Marc_Andrew
19-Jan-2015, 15:23
Hello friends,

I'm looking for a recommendation for a fairly inexpensive ($500 or less?) compact 4x5 camera with a revolving back for wetplate collodion. A decently fast portrait lens as well.

I've been making wetplates with an 8x10 for the last several years in and out of the studio. I need something smaller primarily for use on location. Ugly and cheap is fine for the camera.

Marc

Ari
19-Jan-2015, 15:49
Hi Marc,
Look at the Toyo D45, it's what I bought for 4x5 wet plate; very solid, full movements (some geared), tons of cheap accessories and well-built.
I put mine up for sale for $250, then decided to keep it for wet-plate use, for all of the above reasons.
As for lenses, why not start with what you've been using on 8x10? You'll hit the sweet spot overtime when you're shooting 4x5.

Marc_Andrew
19-Jan-2015, 18:32
Thanks for the tip Ari. I'll take a look at the Toyo.

The only lens I've been using on the 8x10 is a 13" Vitax 3.8. Will most likely need a bit smaller lens for 4x5.

Anyone have any thoughts on a press camera like a Super Graphic for wetplate? Or other inexpensive options?

Tim Meisburger
19-Jan-2015, 18:58
I think you should look at a B&J 5x7 with an additional 4x5 back. Then you can shoot half plate or quarter plate in modified 5x7 or 4x5 holders. The cameras are relatively cheap, fairly light, and have full movements. If you object to the grey color you can strip and stain them, or simply treat grey as primer (it looks the same) and spray paint the camera black. Here are a couple of links so you can see what I mean: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Burke-James-5x7-Wooden-Folding-View-Camera-w-4x5-Back-/301490849200?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item46324145b0
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5x7-Burke-James-Field-Camera-w-4x5-Reducing-Back-2-Lens-Boards-/191482353931?pt=US_Vintage_Cameras&hash=item2c953cd90b