PDA

View Full Version : Help with lens understanding and selection for a newbie

TexasArch
14-Jan-2015, 18:56
I am very new to the LF world and need some help selecting lenses for my field camera. I am in the middle of purchasing two cameras, and ebony and a Wisner.

I have been told that I should get a 90, 150 and 210. I have searched this site and a few others but am very confused by the names and the nomenclature of the manufacturers. I really want to focus on only Rodenstock and Schneider.

If anyone can easily, in plain English, tell me what kind of lens I should be looking for, I would greatly appreciate it. Everything I willshoot will be architectural or landscape images. I tiro of buildings, etc. I want to buy the best that I can, I just need to understand what to look for.

Thank you in advance for your help with this! I appreciate it.

DrTang
14-Jan-2015, 19:08
sound advice on the lenses

that's a good trio to start with

Larry Gebhardt
14-Jan-2015, 19:19
For architecture you will want lenses with large coverage. That's a good range of focal lengths. I use a 90, 135 and 200 myself as a three lens setup, but 90, 150 and 210 is a great choice too. I really like the 135mm Rodenstock Sironar S, and I hear the 150 and 210mm are just as nice. They have a larger image circle than other lenses with the same focal length.

For the 90mm I'd try to find something faster than the common f/8 lenses since wide angles seem dimmer on the ground glass than longer lenses. The Rodenstock 90mm f/6.8 grandagon is nice, though I'd rather have 90mm f/4.5 grandagon if I didn't intend to hike with it.

There are a lot of choices in the 210mm range. I've used a Nikon plasmat, which is nice. I don't have any experience with Rodenstock's offering in this focal length, though I'm sure it's excellent.

TexasArch
14-Jan-2015, 19:31
Thanks Larry, this is exactly the type of information I have been looking for!

Ari
14-Jan-2015, 20:00