PDA

View Full Version : Deardorff 4x5 question

TexasArch
12-Jan-2015, 19:40
I am just getting into the large format world and I would like to purchase a vintage Deardorff 4x5 or 5x7/4x5 view camera. I am having difficulty trying to find a good source other than Ebay for these cameras. Does anyone within the community here know of a good website or reputable dealer that I can turn to to try and find one. I want to use this camera so it needs to be in very good condition and in working order. Any help or advice that you can share would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Luis-F-S
12-Jan-2015, 19:51
Your best source will probably be to wait until someone on this forum has one available. Many of the Ebay cameras are sold by people who know little about these cameras so they can't tell you if they have any issues. At least many on this forum are photographers, so they should be familiar with their cameras. I have two 4x5 Specials, one from 1952 and one from 1987 and they are almost indistinguishable. Good luck. L

TexasArch
12-Jan-2015, 19:54
Luis,
Thank you for this advice. I kind of thought that might be the case. The few I have seen on Ebay were from people who really didn't know what they had. I guess I will just keep trying here and searching the for sale section. I just thought that there was a dealer out there someplace that would have some. I envy you with two of them!! Thanks for your help.

Alan Gales
12-Jan-2015, 20:20
You could post a WTB or want to buy in the for sale section on this forum.

Good luck to you!

TexasArch
12-Jan-2015, 20:59
Thank you Alan. I just figured out how to domjust that! I will what happens. Thank you.

austin granger
12-Jan-2015, 21:14
Alan beat me to it, but I would second his recommendation to post a WTB here on the forum. I did the same a few years ago and ended up with a very nice Deardorff Special that I have been using ever since. There are quite a few of them out there.

Joe Smigiel
12-Jan-2015, 21:19