PDA

View Full Version : N00b Film Handling question...

OffBalance
22-Dec-2014, 21:07
My daughter mentioned she wanted a view camera, so I found a good sub-$100 one for her (Calumet 45NX). I'm totally new to this, as is she. I plan to give it to her for Christmas. I have the needed accessories and a box of film wrapped and under the tree, but one thing has me baffled before I dive into this with her...

How does one handle the exposed film? Is there a second light-proof plastic bag in the film box to put it in as she takes photos? Should she put the tissues between the film sheets after exposure too? And when she sends the film across the country for processing, is it best to send it all in one bag? I want to go through a complete cycle with her before she goes back to college after Christmas.

Sorry for the very basic question but I didn't see this mentioned in the getting started guide here or the Simmons book, and I didn't know how exactly to search for this on the forum!

DG 3313
22-Dec-2014, 21:16
You need an empty film box to get the exposed film to the lab. Shoot me a PM with your contact info and I will send you one.

Don

PS. shoot film and save the boxes!

Sirius Glass
22-Dec-2014, 21:20
OffBalance welcome to APUG

OffBalance
22-Dec-2014, 21:28
Thanks guys for the welcome and the offer! Do the labs normally return the boxes with the negatives?

DG 3313
22-Dec-2014, 21:50
yes

Leszek Vogt
22-Dec-2014, 22:07