PDA

View Full Version : Dual Purpose View Camera

Alick Crossley
17-Dec-2004, 14:49
What a great website! So much info.

I am looking to buy a used view camera. I want to use it for both architecture/interiors and table top still life.

I was initially leaning towards a Sinar F2, due to the low cost, availability of parts, (I live in NYC,) and weight. (Not necessarily in that order, but the combination thereof.) I noticed quite a few people on this site expressed disapproval, but didn't mention why. Is it very awkward to use compared to a P?

I like low light situations, so sturdiness during long exposures is important. Is this camera flimsy?

I see that a used Sinar P is about the same price, around $1000, but I imagine it is much heavier. Is it worth it?

Others have mentioned the Arca Swiss Discovery, (which can be had new for $1500,) Linhof tk45s, Toyo GII, (not yaw free,) and others. All of which I have no experience with.

I don't really like renting things, as I like to work at my usual slow pace, but I do like having accessories readily available.

I have only worked with the Sinar P2, so I am the most comfortable with that system, though not completely against change.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Armin Seeholzer
17-Dec-2004, 16:35
F2 is just the right tool and later you can switch to a P or P2 or P3 for studio work! I worked for years with an Arca F-Line but switched to Sinar because of the most completed system and of the troubles with the back of the Arca wich ruined to much shoots on the long run.
Now I have the F1 for outside and the P for my studio work and it is my tool!
I only take the P outside for a very long and heavy lens for example my 610mm APO Nikkor!
The F2 is not flymsy at all!

R. Sulc
17-Dec-2004, 17:29