PDA

View Full Version : Archiving Artwork, Best lens to use with Toyo 45F?

M.S.Bizzle
14-Dec-2004, 12:17
Hello and thank you for a fantastic forum and website. Thanks also to those who help us newbies by answering our queries!

I am a painter who is getting into LF because I would like to archive my work. Currently I have pieces scanned by a pro studio but it is costly! I am familiar with photography and consider myself to be at an intermediate level. I have an opportunity to purchase a Toyo 45F in near mint cond. for $300. I've researched extensively and have found this to be a fair price. The photographer selling the camera is also including a light meter, some basic extras for the camera and some tutorial sessions. he's very helpful, so I feel it's a good deal all around.

My question: I will be photographing paintings, sizes 8x10" up to 5x6 feet. I have a decent sized room to shoot the work, lighting will be ??? ...addressed as money and know-how allows - but I'm wondering what will be the best size lens to use? I'm on a budget (starving artist and all that) so I'll be looking at purchasing a used lens.

thanks in advance for your response and help!

Michael S. Briggs
14-Dec-2004, 12:37
Based on excellent performance in this application, reasonable price and ready availability on the used market, I suggest a G-Claron. These are symmetrical lenses optimized for closeup work but which also work well even for objects at infinity. They have more coverage than some of the other process lens types. They cost less than the currenlty made LF maco lenses. 210 mm would be a good focal length for your application.

Glenn Kroeger
14-Dec-2004, 12:56
Ditto... this is what the G-Claron lives for!

tim atherton
14-Dec-2004, 12:59
Although I don't agree with everything 100% this is a pretty good little primer

http://www.kinesisgear.com/copywork.html (http://www.kinesisgear.com/copywork.html)

Gem Singer
14-Dec-2004, 13:11
Hello M.S.,