PDA

View Full Version : Scouting locations

John Kasaian
6-Dec-2014, 18:50
I went scouting a new location today. Wildwood, which is hard by a mobile home park, nearly underneath the HWY 41 bridge spanning the San Joaquin river, and part of the San Joaquin River Parkway Conservation Trust.
All of maybe 10 minutes from my front door via the family Volkswagen.
While I've scouted locations on the river bottom before, this was my first time at Wildwood----sort of, my High School Class had a year end party at the swimming pool, which is probably still there behind a cyclone fence at the Eastern boundary, so technically it's my first time with photography as my objective. The thicket is so dense that the mobile home park and the bridge are well hidden from view, although being a Saturday morning there were other tourists, mostly walking their dogs.
I'd hope it isn't so popular on mid-week mornings.
I didn't take my camera and only made a few sketches while walking the trails.
What has me excited is that it is so close and the 8x10 kit would be easily luggable from the parking lot to anywhere in the park boundaries thanks to well built and maintained trails and the compactness of the park.
But this thread is about scouting locations, which truthfully, is something I seldom do :o
Have you scouted any locations lately? How often do you go scouting?

Ari
6-Dec-2014, 19:46
I am always scouting; if I see something interesting, I'll write it down and come back another time.

dsphotog
6-Dec-2014, 21:00
Didn't James Dean wreck his Porsche 550 on Hwy 41?

John Kasaian
6-Dec-2014, 23:46
Didn't James Dean wreck his Porsche 550 on Hwy 41?Yep, but that was quite a bit farther to the South at the Jack Ranch, near Shandon. The tree is still there.

dsphotog
7-Dec-2014, 21:34
Thanks, John... Traveling Hwy 41 might be a good photo project.
Back to topic...