PDA

View Full Version : differences between Zone VI 4x5 models

Darin Cozine
13-Dec-2004, 20:56
Apparently there are a wide variety of zone vi cameras made. I read that the first were made similar to the wistas. I have seen tachiharas that were marketed as zone vi. And a local camera store in Sacramento is selling a zone vi with a brass plate marked 'made for zone vi by ron wisner'
(camera arts on 57th and h st.)

So is there a web site that shows the differences between the various zone vi models? I have read conflicting reviews of the zone vi, and perhaps the different versions have created much confusion.

Darin

www.cozinephoto.com

J. Wolfe
13-Dec-2004, 22:36
There were several iterations of "Zone VI" cameras. I'm not an expert, but here are at least some of them:

1. There was a Wista that was private labeled as a Zone VI.
2. Wisner made a Zone VI camera for a short period of time until Wisner and Picker parted company.
3. Picker then manufactured a modified version of the Wisner design himself.
4. After Calumet bought Zone VI in 1990, they continued to sell the Picker manufactured version for a period of time.
5. Calumet then came out with the Zone VI Ultralight.
6. As far as I know, all versions of the Zone VI are now out of production.

Richard Ritter had an article in View Camera Magazine about a year ago about the history of Zone VI cameras. Wisner responded with his version in a subsequent issue.

I'm sure others can fill in other aspects of this history.

Kirk Gittings
14-Dec-2004, 00:13
I have had a couple of them. The made by Wisner ones are the best in my opinion.

Chris Mallison
14-Dec-2004, 07:57
"6. As far as I know, all versions of the Zone VI are now out of production."