PDA

View Full Version : Bent Front Rails on a Crown Graphic

The Reverend
2-Dec-2014, 09:36
Howdy,

this is my first time posting. After a long time digital i decided to get back into film. Real film. I have been eying with 4x5 shooting for a long time and finally won a "broken" Crown Graphic on ebay germany for 59 Euros. I choose the crown because its cheap, robust and i shoot potraiture only so a slighty longer normal (150-210) and maybe a wideangle later down the road will be enough and i dont think i will need any movements for my style of shooting. Its on its way two me and has two problems:

1. The rangefinder cam is broken, but i dont really mind because i will dismount the rangefinder anyway.
2. The front rails were bent while closing the camera, i attached a picture of the seller, you can clearly see the bend on the end of the front rails. So far the camera is still working, but you have to fiddle the front standart by hand in the front rails since they dont allign correctly anymore.

So, here are some questions, is it possible to bend the rails back in shape without braking them? i suppose they are aluminium and aluminium is always brittle. If you advise against bending, i would start looking for a new set of rails. Sending it out for repair is not an option, broke student here and repair work always helps me to build an emotional connection to the camera.

Does this forum have some kind of private trading section? I still need a lens board, a cheap lens and some film holders and i usually try to avoid ebay. Prices in the USA seem a lot better then here in germany where analog shooting seems to be a hobby of rich elderly men with leicas, zeiss lenses and ridicolousy expansive equipment.

mdarnton
2-Dec-2014, 09:57
I'm not seeing anything in your photo that's bent--it's all pretty tiny in your small photo, though, even when I click through to the small "large" version. You can buy rails on Ebay, not too expensive, usually.

Jim C.
2-Dec-2014, 11:55