PDA

View Full Version : papers for contact printing

NiNo
27-Nov-2014, 07:46
Hello to All!

is there difference on what kind of paper to make contacts?
the main question is - Graded -vs- VC?

How to control the contrast? Just with exposure time/developer dilution? Or there are things that can help to make the final print better?

If it is not difficult, post yours pics
thx a lot!

JeRuFo
29-Nov-2014, 05:30
I have no experience, so I'm just brainstorming. If you're using VC paper, you maybe could use a colored gel? There are also developers that bring down the contrast or you could pre-flash the paper.

Easiest is probably to use a graded paper and use the one you think suits the negative.

jp
29-Nov-2014, 07:46
I use a color dichroic enlarger as a light source for contact printing with VC paper.

I mostly stick with one developer, and I develop to completion, so I don't count on development to adjust contrast.

If you use graded paper and a light bulb, the azo paper looks pretty nice. I haven't used it yet, but have seen what others' use of it.

NiNo
29-Nov-2014, 08:36
thx guys!

i use light bulb (matted warm light) or can use cool diod-light with a piece of white paper as a diffuser too. i have my old 5x7 monorail as enlager and can use it too.
can it bring better result if i will use 5x7 (i am going to buy ilford MG filter set) + diffused light compared to light bulb + contact print frame?

i am going to test some papers (Slavich, Foma, Rollei, Ilford. RCs and FB. Graded and VC). It will be fine if anyone interessed on such experiment and ready to make some test too?!

Drew Wiley
2-Dec-2014, 16:47
You can use all your ordinary printing papers, whether variable contrast or graded. No problem. But contact printing does allow you to expand your choices into
relatively slow-printing chloride papers (like Azo or Lodima) and types of papers which require UV light sources, such as sunlight. With VC papers it is easiest just