PDA

View Full Version : Stand Developing tanks/technique for 4x5

RodinalDuchamp
22-Nov-2014, 09:00
Hello. This is my first post so I will start with a little background. I did search for reference but did not find anything I thought useful to my particular set of circumstances.

I started shooting film about three years ago, I am a BFA major currently in college. My main rig until now has been a Bronica ETRS 645 MF. I have a pretty well equipped darkroom in my house, Omega D2 elnarger a variety of enlarging lenses/boards/trays etc. I would say that I am currently solidly intermediate to advanced intermediate in both making pictures and developing film and processing.

That being said I have taken the next step and purchased a Crown Graphic 4x5. I have been progressively regressing towards more and more manual control of everything I create and now seems like a good time to take this step as I am about 2 1/2 semesters from finishing my BFA, I will likely be able to get support and help from my mentors.

However I like to think that I am LARGELY self taught because I have been working on the same projects now for a year to a year and a half aside from school assignments.

OK - on to my question.

I have developed (no pun intended) a very deep love for stand developing in Rodinal 1:100 for about an hour. I have never had any issues with bromide drag because I agitate for about 30 seconds in the beginning and about 2 inversions at 30 minutes. I have had excellent results thus far with 645.

I would like to maintain a similar workflow with my 4x5 negatives but have run into so much opposing information online that I am a bit confused/overwhelmed and hope you fine sirs might be able to guide me.