PDA

View Full Version : 55mm Rodenstock movement questions

Jeff Dexheimer
10-Nov-2014, 15:16
I just purchased the 55mm APO Rodenstock from a member here and I am getting ready to use it. I have three questions however.

1. I will be using technika type boards. What is the deepest recessed board that would be comfortably usable with this lens? As in, how deep could I go and still be able to access my controls?

2. I have never used a recessed board before. What impact, if any, does a recessed board have on movements

3. Would a universal style bellows (bellows without front pleats) allow sufficient movement for this lens if the lens is mounted on a recessed board?

My assumption is this - mount the lens on a 10mm board and get the universal bellows and I should be fine for any movement within the tiny allowable movement range of my 55 mm lens. Any ideas would help. Thanks!

Old-N-Feeble
10-Nov-2014, 15:23
What camera?

Jeff Dexheimer
10-Nov-2014, 15:32
Shen Hao PTB45

It accepts and has available bag bellows and universal bellows.

Bob Salomon
10-Nov-2014, 15:37
Linhof makes several different Technika 45 recessed lens boards. Which one you need depends on which Linhof camera you use it on. The most common recessed Linhof board is the 001015 "Comfort" board. On this board all operating controls, and the aperture scale, are on the front flat surface of the board so you never have to reach into the recess to set aperture, use the press focus, set the aperture, hook up a cable release or plug in a flash cord.
The other recessed boards do not offer or have these conveniences.