PDA

View Full Version : First 4x5 Wooden Field Camera

civiliano
3-Nov-2014, 12:10
Hello everyone!

Im new to largeformat photography and would like to buy a 4x5 wooden field camera. I love photography and i know i will enjoy the slower process in crafting an image with a field camera. So i am looking for a camera to keep and use for a long time. Im a bit concernd about cameras where several movements are coupled to one tightening knob. justified? i will use the camera for landscapes and plan to use focal lenghts from 90mm to max 300mm.

At the moment i have three offers and i could need some advice from you. the prices are not worlds apart (except the ebony but still a good deal) so its more about ease of use and quality of the build and lenses.

excuse me, my english is not so good ;)

1. Ebony RW45E (Ebony Wood) with a Rodenstock Apo Sironar - S 150mm f/5.6 (almost like new)
2. Wista Field 45DX modified to take a sinar zoom adapter. Nikkor 150mm Lens (Used with some scratches on the groundglass and average wear)
3. Walker SF Titan. Rodenstock Sironar N 150mm 5,6 (some marks on groundglass but otherwise in very good condition)

Thanks for your help and thoughts!

Best regards,

Silvio

john borrelli
10-Nov-2014, 19:36
Well, your #1 choice is high end stuff. There is something to be said for learning on high end equipment and save elsewhere by buying less equipment(i.e. lenses). I have not used either of the cameras you have mentioned.