PDA

View Full Version : creoscitex eversmart jazz Diagnostics fails

kpathatt
16-Oct-2014, 12:56
I am trying to get my CreoScitex Eversmart Jazz up and running. I have very little experience with this grand scanner besides manual info. Setup seemed to go well. I scanned couple transparencies and got not great results. The scans had a water paper texture to them. So I ran Diagnostics and I keep getting ESL Main Lamp Motor FAIL, ESL Main Lens Motor FAIL and Transparent L FAIL. I am having trouble finding exactly what these FAILs mean. I can do a scan so why am I getting these FAIL messages in Diagnostics. Does anyone know how I address these issues.

Thanks,
Kevin

Evanjoe610
19-Oct-2014, 08:32
Good Morning Kevin,

Its been awhile since I had my hands on my Jazz & JAZZ +. Of the two scanners, both are identical, with the JAZZ + the better scanner.

The messages you received are as following:

1. SL Main Lamp Motor FAIL
This is the reflective bulb that went out on you. The other option, would be that you might had installed it wrong.

2. ESL Transparent L FAIL.
This is the other bulb for transparency film. Both bulbs are the one & the same. Again the option, might be a wrong installation of the bulb.

3. ESL Main Lens Motor FAIL
This is message could be any reason for it to have a fail.
I would think if its time to check if the bulbs were installed correctly FIRST, followed by the outright replacement of the bulb, this message would disappear.

When you purchased this scanner, did you get the very last version software for it to run on OS10.3.9 Panther or Jaguar? I think it was 3.5.1 software.

Do you have the original correct calibration slide and manuals for it?