PDA

View Full Version : Interesting info on DOF etc

ADG
2-Dec-2004, 05:35
Found some great info and comment on depth of field etc here:
http://www.reasonableexpectations.com (http://www.reasonableexpectations.com)
I am no expert or mathemetician so cannot comment on the accuracy of the findings, but it makes great reading and looks credible to me.

Leonard Evens
2-Dec-2004, 08:10
I read through it quickly. It seems generally correct, but there were a couple of places where I think it may be misleading. These seem to result from too much dependence on the relation of depth of field to subject magnification.

Let me give one example. In the first article, "What is depth of field and how is it determined", he shows two pictures of his daughter. Both were taken with the same camera and same f-stop, but one with a 105 mm focal length setting on a zoom lens and the other with a 300 mm focal length setting on another zoom lens. But the subject distances were adjusted so that the image magnification in the plane of exact focus was the same. In such circumstances, if the subject is close enough, the depth of field about the exact plane of focus is essentially the same and not dependent on focal length.

But this can be misleading, since it depends strongly on just what the distance to the plane of exact focus is, and how far is close enough will depend generally on the focal length. For example, it is easy to arrange that the magnifications in the exact subject plane are the same but that for the shorter focal length lens, the distance to the exact subject plane is greater than the hyperfocal distance for that focal length/ fstop combination and the same distance is well less than the hyperfocal distance for the longer lens/fstop combination. In that case, the back depth of field for the shorter focal length lens would be infinite while the back depth of field for the longer focal length lens would be relatively small.