PDA

View Full Version : 5x4 choosing a scanner

james silverman
1-Dec-2004, 08:06
I was wondering if anyone could offer advice.

I was looking into buying a scanner for 5x4 and even though i would like an Imacon it is not affordable.

So the only option i have heard about is the Epson Perfection 4870 Photo

my question is..to shoot and present to magazines and clients to make A3 size prints- scanning from Neg and tranny would it be of sufficient quality ?

Can it handle Negatives is the important question ?

does anyone have any samples i can view..

I live in Sweden and they have to be ordered in specially so i can not test and can not view anything either.

all advice welcome

James

Stan. Laurenson-Batten
1-Dec-2004, 09:17
Hello James.

I have been using a Cano Scan D24U for the past two years. It cost a reasonable £350.

It is used for all formats from 35mm 120/6X9 to 5X4 and all types of film plus print scans.

The results - I am unable to fault, suffice to say, I enlarged to 40X30 inches from a 5X4 trans.

There is little point in unloading an example - as the resulting loss of detail would be self defeating.

There are other models now available since the Cannon came on the market, I am confident they too will perform to your requirements.

Kirk Gittings
1-Dec-2004, 09:24
All the testing that I have done and a few other people that I have corresponded with agree that the Epson 4870 is the best under$1000.00 flatbed scanner available. I use it for all my commercial work for prints up to 16x20.

james silverman
1-Dec-2004, 09:36
how about negatives with the Epson 4870 ?have you scanned or just transparencies?

Ed Pierce
1-Dec-2004, 10:06
The images on my website (www.edpiercephoto.com) were made by scanning 4x5 negatives on a "remanufactured" Epson 3200. Works fine and didn't cost much.

james silverman
1-Dec-2004, 10:39
looks decent scans on your site ..nice pictures..

what about colour negs just as good in the shadow areas aswell..?