PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 Field camera with revolving graflok back and rear shift

Tom Hoyle
8-Oct-2014, 16:11
Hi all,

This is my first post, but I've been trawling for a while and learning lots from all the experienced people on here. I've been using a Toyo 45G monorail for about six months and really love the large format way of working. As we are moving into summer (I'm in New Zealand) I'm looking at buying a supplementary field camera to take into the hills to do some landscape work, the monorail being less than ideal for this application.

I've read lots of reviews of different models but I seem to be going around in circles trying to find a model with the exact combination of features I am after so I was hoping someone on here might be able to point me in the right direction. My requirements are thus:

-work with lenses from 90mm -240mm and ideally with a 47mm SA XL on a recessed board (is this asking too much?)
-have a revolving graflok back (preferably one that will fit my reflex finder from the Toyo monorail, but not essential that it fits, graflok is essential and I must be able to mount in portrait)
-have decent front movements, but anything crazy I can do on the monorail, just the minimal landscape stuff required for this camera
-have rear shift of around 15mm
-available used for <US$1000
-weight isn't a huge factor, I'd rather carry a bit more for the sake of sturdiness and rigidity, so leaning towards a metal camera rather than a wooden one