PDA

View Full Version : Platinum Printing: Advice needed starting down this road

doogie
30-Sep-2014, 23:01
After a lot of thought I decided that I would like to go down the road with Platinum Printing. I am in my second year of the photography degree and still (for some unknown reason) drawn towards this process. I do know this is fairly expensive for a student to start, however, I am also stubborn and don't give up easily. I shoot with a Linhof ST.

That being said, ANY advice and direction is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

V/r,
Jonathan

Vaughn
30-Sep-2014, 23:17
Bostick and Sullivan have some good kits for getting started. A lot of variables to play around with. I suggest starting out with Palladium with Na2 as your contrast agent. And start with small prints 4x5 or 5x7. Pick a paper that needs no treatment -- COT320 is a nice one, but there are many.

Have fun!

doogie
2-Oct-2014, 23:05
Vaughn,

Thank you for the initial direction. Just starting the planning stages, however, I feel it best to have every duck lined up properly before I set the wheels in motion so to speak. I'll post updates with lots of questions along the way. Thank you again.

V/r,
Jonathan

lab black
4-Oct-2014, 00:13
Jonathan,

"Platinum and Palladium Printing," by Dick Arentz is a comprehensive and extremely helpful tool. Used copies are available on Amazon. Depending on your location, there are many highly skilled practitioners of the craft that offer workshops, which can be beneficial and in the long run, very cost effective.

Bruce Barlow
4-Oct-2014, 03:30