PDA

View Full Version : super symmar 110x. & horseman 45fa

John A.
26-Nov-2004, 11:30
I've been looking into purchasing a horseman 45fa and a schneider super symmar 110xl.
I noticed on the b&h site that the lensboards with a copal #1 shutters are extended or slightly extended.
I'm new to lf and am wondering if this outfit would be completely compatible. What difference does a slight extension make with this lens? Thanks for any input.

Ralph Barker
26-Nov-2004, 12:59
I've never used a Horseman, John, so I may be talking through my hat here. With that caveat, it seems strange that they don't list a flat board for the Copal 1. But, the dimensions of the 45FA board are relatively small, so the use of the slightly-extended board with Copal 1 shutters might be a matter of providing some clearance with the side struts of the front standard for easier access to the shutter controls. The "slightly extended" board appears to raise the lens off the board by only 10mm or so. If so, it should work OK with a 110mm lens, as the minimum bellows extension on the 45FA is about 60mm.

MYSherline
26-Nov-2004, 13:18
I have used the Horseman 45A and was not impressed. I currently use a Sinar f1 but I am looking for a Toyo View 45A or 45AII. I have dealt with Jim at Midwest Photo Exchange and he is extremely knowledgeable and patient (I can drive anyone nuts.) Give them a jingle before you make any moves. MPX.com

Good Luck,

Frank Petronio
26-Nov-2004, 13:34
Seems like putting a race-car engine on a jalopy frame. The advantage of the 110XL isn't that you will notice it rendering the image any differently than other good lenses - they are all sharp at f/16 - but the large coverage that you get from it. The Horseman is a fine camera, but it will never use half of the 110XL's image circle, so you're wasting your money by paying top dollar for the 110XL's huge image circle.

But opinions are like a$$holes and I shouldn't be butting in... ;-)

Glenn Kroeger
26-Nov-2004, 14:06