PDA

View Full Version : Tiltall or investment?

Sarah Lighthouse
18-Sep-2014, 00:07
Hello all,

Sorry for yet another tripod q but I'm supremely stuck. I've read through countless threads on tripod decision making and it has helped but the final choice is giving me a headache. Far harder than deciding on a camera! Any advise would be much appreciated.

I'm new to large format and I've just bought a wista 45N metal field with 150mm and 210mm lenses. Weighs 5.2lb.

I won't be taking it hiking but may be carrying for 30 mins to 1 hour on rare occasions but unlikely to ever be far from a car. I take a mixture of still life shots on location so sometimes get into tight corners, portraits outdoors and occasional landscapes (May get more into this with large format though) I'm a 5'8 9st female so 6-7lb of tripod is probably my limit.

My biggest decision is whether to buy a cheap tiltall. I'm in the UK but even with customs and shipping should be no more than $175. Buy a more expensive ltripod later if I need one later.

Or.... Rake out a bit more I can afford up to $500. I thought I'd buy a nice head. A monfrotto 410 or a flm cb38ft. Cheaper legs such as second hand monfrotto 055probx and upgrade later if I need them.

Or... Berlebach 222 and forget about the head. Not sure if this is a good idea for a beginner though.

What would you do if just starting out? Thank you in at advance. Looking forward to future conversations about large format :)

Sarah

Ps my current tripod won't hack it. It's a light mid range Velbon. Served me well with 35mm though.

Darin Boville
18-Sep-2014, 00:24
You should buy used. Look for a carbon fiber model--soooo much lighter. I bought a Gitzo G1327 with head for just under $500. Some of the Chinese knock-offs are good, plus other brands liek FLM etc.

But buy used. That way if you don't like it you can sell it without much loss, if any.

--Darin

cowanw
18-Sep-2014, 04:56
But the point of a Tiltall is that you don't need a head.

Ari