PDA

View Full Version : Jobo 3010 drum- issue with foaming developer

Colin Graham
16-Sep-2014, 08:04
Using a 3010 with L-110 (HC-110 knock off, made by Legacy), I noticed a perfectly superimposed foam texture over the entire negatives. Almost like they were all double-exposed with shots of soap bubbles. What's striking is how well defined they are. It's faint with normal contrast- the shot above has a curve boost to make it easier to see.

I'm brand new to expert drums (this was my first attempt) but have been reading up. I added the developer while the tank is spinning, used 50-60 RPM (or as close as I could keep to it by hand), reversing every 3-4 turns, never stopped, not even for a second. Is this too much agitation? I'm using 700ml of solution. The film emulsion is facing inward.

I'll going to try a few different developers, try a pre-soak. Other suggestions would be great if anyone has them.

Nowhere in my searches have I seen issues with soapy developer. Leave it to me to invent a new screw up. Even if the developer was contaminated, or I didn't rinse the tank well enough, how can this sort of foam last long enough in such a rapidly spinning drum to leave such an indelible impression? Any ideas?

Jim Cole
16-Sep-2014, 08:50
I added the developer while the tank is spinning, used 50-60 RPM (or as close as I could keep to it by hand), reversing every 3-4 turns, never stopped, not even for a second. Is this too much agitation? I'm using 700ml of solution. The film emulsion is facing inward.

Is 50-60 rpm a typo. Did you mean 5-6 rpm? If you're doing 50-60 rmp, that may your problem.

Colin Graham
16-Sep-2014, 09:20
Interesting. Every video I've seen of a CPP/CPA in action, and posts about the proper speed indicate roughly 1/2 to 1 revolution per second. 1 revolution every 10 seconds seems pretty slow.

Arne Croell
16-Sep-2014, 09:43