PDA

View Full Version : What's the deal with Prontors???

Christopher Barrett
10-Sep-2014, 18:31
Ok, I've been shooting view cameras since '94. I currently own a dozen different LF lenses... but they're all in Copal shutters and I have no experience at all with the Prontors. Some of the glass I've been shopping for on eBay, though, is mounted in the Prontors. What do I need to know? Is it true you need a 2nd cable to open the lens for composing?

ie... http://www.iscanmanuals.com/ebay/opticxchange/01042014pic183.jpg

Thanks!
CB

Kirk Gittings
10-Sep-2014, 20:52
I have a few of them left over from my "multiple pop" strobe days with film. You can use two CRs or shift the shutter speed to bulb use a strong single locking cable release and lock it open-which what I do.

VictoriaPerelet
10-Sep-2014, 22:59
I have all my lenses in prontor pro shutters. Late model self cocking prontor pro shutter and grafmatic holder give me about 1 4x5 sheet per second, which is what you need when you do fashion or model editorials. About as fast as my Speedotrons can recharge. I also go over several packs of fujiroids.

They use 2 cables - one to operate aperture for focusing and preview another for release. You can transfer from focusing to shooting in a click. 2 cable operation lets me mount ring flash around LF lenses and I do not have to reach shutter to change settings.

Another need feature - they are very adjustable and very easy to adjust for new focal lenghts with couple of externally accessable screws. To do same on copal you have to take it apart etc.

Minuses are - they are not built anymore, are rare to find, much more expensive. They are larger and cable mounts interfere with arca 6x9 front stand. They have less aperture blades than Copals.

EdSawyer
11-Sep-2014, 12:12