PDA

View Full Version : Toyo view focusing

james silverman
18-Nov-2004, 09:41
I have had problems trying to focus with my Toyo view.

I am new to 5x4 and am trying to work out a logical way to focus and there isnt one it seems.

I have tried reading several sights on the internet and in the books I bought it just doesnt seem to be explained.

This is the most important thing i need to work out as I have just about figured out the camera ,loading and processing film and viewing upside down.

I dont have anything on my rail to indicate anything like i have heard about something on sinars...

please could people offer advice that is easy to digest.

I thought after i read something about focus on near and far points and then focus inbetween and stop the lens down...

I thought that i could focus in the center of the scene and shoot at say f32 and everything would be sharp . Is there no rule that i can use so i know every thing is sharp and in focus.

All advice welcome..

thanks in advance

Gem Singer
18-Nov-2004, 10:45
Hi James,

QT's article, "How To Focus The View Camera", right here on this website, is is about as good as it gets.

Steve Simmons' description of focusing a view camera in his book "Using The View Camera", is also excellent. He has also expounded on his focusing technique several times in View Camera magazine.

There are no rules or secrets. As Steve says: " It isn't rocket science". What you see on the ground glass, is what you get on film". It just takes practice, and more practice.

By the way, focusing on the near, then focusing on the far and setting the focus point on the rail 1/2 way between, is not the same as focusing in the center of the scene.

Leonard Evens
18-Nov-2004, 13:43