PDA

View Full Version : Advice buying my first large format camera.

enniomorricone
21-Aug-2014, 13:42
Hello All

I have a very broad question, which I presume a number of you have answered in the past.

To begin with, I have been shooting with my Mamiya RZ for around 3 years. Over the years I have mainly shot documentary style projects, a lot of portraiture work, and I have found that with travelling and working away from home the RZ has been very practical. Now I have been shooting a lot more landscape based work on my RZ and I have become disappointed with my results, and Im finding it a bit of a compromise.

Ideally I would like to invest in a 4x5 camera, but I am really concerned with the cost of film. I have seen 10 sheets of Kodak Portr go for £45 which is probably too much for me. So to cut to the chase Im after some advice about upgrading to a large format camera that I can buy a 6x7/6x9 back for. I thought to myself I would see what is available online and research from there but I am struggling to find much for sale in the UK.

Is there many benefits changing from a RZ to something like a Horseman VH-R if I am still going to shoot 120?
Any advice on cameras/film will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Ivan J. Eberle
21-Aug-2014, 14:19
First thing that comes to mind is what subjects do you like to shoot--for instance, do favor wide angle views?

Shooting medium format on a large format camera body, there's something of the dilemma to finding wide-angle view camera lenses short & wide enough to improve upon what can readily be done with 120 cameras like your RZ and commonly available lenses.

The Horseman VH-R is not a camera I've used-- but you're considering it because it's a 6x9 cm? There's not enough of a format jump to recommend it over an RZ since you're disappointed with 6x7.

enniomorricone
21-Aug-2014, 14:41