PDA

View Full Version : Process/APO-Nikkors vs APO-Ronar, G-Claron, Fuji A

Tony Karnezis
9-Nov-2004, 16:53
Hi everyone. I recently started shooting 8x10 to contact print on Azo. I own a 300/9 Nikkor M and just acquired a 19" APO red dot artar that I have not yet used. Assuming my 210/5.6 Symmar-S will barely cover 8x10, I've been reading the threads on the apparently incredible sharpness and amazing coverage of the process (f/10) Nikkor lenses. Ignore issues of lens size, weight, and the cost of putting these lenses into a shutter. Purely from an aesthetic perspective, is there a NOTICEABLE, SIGNIFICANT difference in the sharpness of a process Nikkor (180/210/240/260mm, f/10) or APO-Nikkor (f/9, longer focal lengths) in a contact print versus an equivalent, more widely available APO-Ronar, G-Claron, or Fuji A series lens (or other Goerz lenses that I don't know anything about)? Stated differently, is the print quality using a process Nikkor that much different that it would make me want to buy one over one of the other lenses?

As a matter of my perspective, this isn't a case of 'chasing the magic bullet.' I understand that sharpness is only one technical factor in the success of a print. I'm inquiring because in light of how many people seem obsessed with sharpness, it seems odd that more people aren't using process or APO-Nikkors. If not, why not? Cost of putting them into a shutter? Availability? Weight? Contrast? To avoid speculation, I specifically ask for replies from those who have experience with prints made from shots taken with the lenses in question. Why would YOU choose one over the other? And to throw one more variable into the equation, if I would also use the lenses with color transparency film for enlargement, would that influence your recommendation?

Nick_3536
9-Nov-2004, 17:16