PDA

View Full Version : Recessed lens board

DEC3
30-Jul-2014, 12:49
I recently bought a 90mm lens w/out a lens board for my 4x5 view camera and was wondering if I should buy a regular or recessed board. The IC is 235, not sure that matters but it can't hurt. I am not sure what factors go in to determining whether or not a recessed board is required. As you can tell I am still learning abut LF. Thanks in advance for the help.

Bob Salomon
30-Jul-2014, 12:55
What camera? Do you need or also need a bag bellows for the 90mm on your camera?

John Olsen
30-Jul-2014, 13:01
You'll need a recessed board if a flat board won't bring your lens close enough to the film plane to focus at infinity. Cut out a temporary lens board from flat cardboard and try to focus. If you can't focus, then you need a recessed holder.

Andrew
30-Jul-2014, 13:39
check out the available recessed boards for your camera, they aren't all created equal in terms of amount of recess and how they impact on access to shutter controls and what shutter they'll accept
definitely try mocking up a flat board and see how your camera behaves... and then add a cm of bellows extension and see if it significantly improves your ability to use the camera's movements

DEC3
30-Jul-2014, 13:50
Good advice on the mock lend board. I will give it a try. To answer Bob's question. The camera is an Omega 45 view. I don't think a bag bellows is an option.

Bob Salomon
30-Jul-2014, 13:51
You'll need a recessed board if a flat board won't bring your lens close enough to the film plane to focus at infinity. Cut out a temporary lens board from flat cardboard and try to focus. If you can't focus, then you need a recessed holder.

And, possibly, a bag bellows!

Bob Salomon
30-Jul-2014, 13:53
Good advice on the mock lend board. I will give it a try. To answer Bob's question. The camera is an Omega 45 view. I don't think a bag bellows is an option.