PDA

View Full Version : SF Bay Area scanner rental

donteatmemountainlion
28-Jul-2014, 13:24
Hi, I'm just getting started with LF but am loving it so far. I have rented equipment so far but am looking to get my own soon. I've been scanning my negatives on an Epson 1680 but the quality has been disappointing and not what I'd expect. I'm wondering if anyone in the San Francisco Bay Area knows of a place I can rent time on a scanner to see what kind of quality another flatbed scanner would give me. I know Keeble and Shuchat rents time but it's $55/hr, minimum two hours, which is a bit pricey at this point.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!
David

Bob Salomon
28-Jul-2014, 13:29
have you checked with Looking Glass in Berkeley?

Scott Davis
28-Jul-2014, 13:56
Two other options to contact - RayKo Photo Center and Lightwaves. I don't know what digital imaging facilities RayKo has, but they have extensive wet darkroom options. It's been a year or two since I was in there, but memory has it that they had digital workstations, so I would think they have scanners along with. Call Lightwaves and ask if they have rental facilities. I used them for processing some C41 a while ago, so I wouldn't have to fly home with exposed but unprocessed film. I was not thrilled with their C-41 work but I do remember seeing some beautiful prints on the wall and hearing something about rental workspace. I could be completely up a tree on that one, but worth asking.

richardman
28-Jul-2014, 13:57
K&S only rent out the Imacon. Are you in the South Bay area? In any case, for 4x5 and up, an Epson V700/V750 is much better than the 1680 and stands up quite well even against an Imacon (I have done the test). Send me a PM with your email and I can send you a crop of the high res scan for you to see.

donteatmemountainlion
28-Jul-2014, 14:32
Thanks all, much appreciated!

Here is a crop of a sky from my scan. 1600dpi, 4x5 Ilford FP4 film...