PDA

View Full Version : Question about the ground glass on WISTA SP 4x5 field camera

innerlight
24-Jul-2014, 06:39
I'm just learning how to use a Wista SP 4x5.

The ground glass has a central 'clear spot' which shows a different degree of focus than the rest of the glass.

For instance if i make sure the focus is crisp in the center circle then the rest of the screen is slightly off, and vice versa.

My question is this - in which part of the screen should I focus? The central spot or the rest of the screen.

djdister
24-Jul-2014, 06:48
Just making a guess here - if the subject appears to be in sharp focus in the central clear spot, but the same subject (at the same distance) outside of the clear spot does not appear in focus, then perhaps the ground glass with clear spot is installed backwards. An object at a fixed distance should appear sharp in both the clear spot and the ground glass.

AJ Edmondson
24-Jul-2014, 06:56
As Dan noted, unless the Fresnel is installed backward the focus should be the same... you should be able to read the Wista logo from the rear of the camera - otherwise it is flipped and the Fresnel should be nearest the lens with the cover glass on top of it. If you aren't familiar with focusing the area outside the center spot may appear less sharp due to the texture.

Joel

Bob Salomon
24-Jul-2014, 09:20
118857Attached is an image of a brand new, just out of the factors box, Wista 45 SP back with the ground glass with spot, and the cover glass. The Fresnel does not come on it when you buy a replacement back, neither does the focusing hood.
The ground side of the gg faces the lens and, as mentioned, the WISTA name is readable from the back. The cover glass is on top of the gg so it is closest to the eye.

innerlight
24-Jul-2014, 13:18
thanks for this

Bob Salomon
24-Jul-2014, 13:29