PDA

View Full Version : Camera help

Jason
21-Jul-2014, 05:30
Hey all. I'm looking at getting back into large format. Starting with cameras first. I used mono rail mostly before when I studied at derby (about 20 years ago so very rusty :-) ). I'm wanting a field camera now. I really like the look of this camera on eBay, it's in the U.K. like me so shipping looks good, plus it has standard and wide lenses to start me off. My question to you experts is ... Does this look like a good deal, seems a bit pricy to me but would value you're opinions.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wista-Field-45-DX-II-Rosewood-4x5-LF-Camera-Fujinon-Schenieder-Set-Ex/221500077558?_trksid=p2047675.c100011.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D24059%26meid%3D8470273350353789991%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D10244%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D10%26sd%3D190809371756

Or perhaps starting with something like this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LINHOF-SUPER-TECHNIKA-III-V5-4x5-LARGE-FORMAT-CAMERA-Schneider-150-f4-5-Lens-/221485170243?pt=UK_Film_Cameras&hash=item33918b7e43

Also noticed ffordes have an ebony rw45 for Ģ999 with wide and standard lenses that would be in the ballpark of the wista too... Decisions, decisions.

Would value your thoughts...

Thanks.

DG 3313
21-Jul-2014, 05:43
I would take the LF approach to buying a camera.....take your time. There are a lot of good deals and advice on this forum. Good luck!

Jim Noel
21-Jul-2014, 08:13
If they are in the same price range, and the lenses are equivalent, the Ebony is by far the best buy. In the US the Ebony would go for more than the camera + lenses you mention.

Richard Johnson
21-Jul-2014, 10:34
That Wista is very overpriced by 4x and the Linhof Technikas are great but not so much the nearly 65 year old Tech IIIs ~ even though that one is a nice example it is still quite expensive.