PDA

View Full Version : 34 ruined negatives - the great mistery

mircea nicolae
14-Jul-2014, 09:32
hi,

on july 9, 2014, i developed a large batch of 4x5 negatives.
they were part of a project that i had been working on since the month of May.

in all, i had 34 exposures on Portra 400 iso.

the negatives were stored in the same place where i have been keeping them for the last four years.
there was nothing different in the way i handled the film compared to the other hundreds of 4x5 negatives i have shot so far.

however, all of the negatives were ruined by some mysterious over-exposure to light.
i have attached some examples for your reference.

they are all panoramas of the parks in my city.

needless to say, i lost two months of work.
however, going beyond that, i am trying to come to an understanding of what happened.

in the process, i came up with a few possible explanations.

1. the negatives were damaged before they were placed in the film holder.

(this might have been possible, i thought. i kept the negatives in a fridge full of food and at some point the kodak cardboard pack smelled of pork steak. i also had also two bottles of chemicals four months ago in the fridge, but they were tightly capped. during the past year i never noticed any damage on the negatives. during the development process i took two test shots from my balcony with the same setup i used for the damaged negatives. the two identical shots came out perfect. they all came from the same fridge. so it's not the unexposed negatives.)

2. the negatives were damaged inside the camera, while shooting.

(this could be possible as well, but less likely in the given time-frame of two months. the same kind of damage should be consistent across the negatives, and it also should show up in more recent photos. however, the two identical test shots came out perfect. this means that the camera and the holders are not the problem, and neither is the development process.)