PDA

View Full Version : A Question about Ilford Delta 100 Developer

jianglinxi
2-Jul-2014, 14:52
Hi,

I'm new to 4x5 large format camera. I'm using Ilford Delta 100 film. Kodak D-76 is my current developer for 35mm and 120mm films. I did try to use for 4x5 film developing, but the negative film is a little bit softer than my friend who use HC-110 to develop. I'm not sure which developer can provide sharp and nice results to Delta 100 film. Please give me some advises. Thank you!

ic-racer
2-Jul-2014, 15:36
Check that the ground glass is properly positioned, tripod is sturdy, you have appropriate focus and aperture selection, etc.

Light Guru
2-Jul-2014, 15:55
Hi,

I'm new to 4x5 large format camera. I'm using Ilford Delta 100 film. Kodak D-76 is my current developer for 35mm and 120mm films. I did try to use for 4x5 film developing, but the negative film is a little bit softer than my friend who use HC-110 to develop. I'm not sure which developer can provide sharp and nice results to Delta 100 film. Please give me some advises. Thank you!

People use D76 for 4x5 film all the time. You should eliminate all other things that could cause the image to be soft first.

Light Guru
2-Jul-2014, 15:57
Check that the ground glass is properly positioned, tripod is sturdy, you have appropriate focus and aperture selection, etc.

You may also want to check the distance on the film holders also. I once had a graphmatic holder that had a distance different then my 2 sheet film holders thus causing all the images I took using the graphmatic to be slightly soft.

Robert Crigan
2-Jul-2014, 23:36