PDA

View Full Version : Polaroid back, films and Chamonix 045F1

Taipan
15-May-2014, 05:40
Hi Everybody,

I'm new to the LF photography and first of all I want to apologize if I'm asking some stupid questions !
I bought a new Chamonix 045F1 and next month I'll start to take some pictures and experiment. Since I'm interested to the instant film I want to ask you which is the Polaroid back I need to mount on my camera and which is the instant film (I mean the code and the productors) specially for black and white pictures. As far as I understood instant film means that you just have to wait some time in order to develop the film in the place. I mean, you don't need to go tho the lab to do that, it's right ?
Then I want to know which are you favourite shops to buy the instant film in Europe.

Thanks and bests !

Gennaro

vinny
15-May-2014, 07:14
this is your only option for b+w and it's 3000 asa. the color stuff is 100 asa and much cheaper. neither are 4x5 in size.
you need a polaroid 405 holder. use the search info for more info on instant film.

Taipan
15-May-2014, 07:56
Thanks for the reply Vinny. Then you are suggesting that the only way to use my camera is with the Polaroid 405 holder and then search for some expired instant film ?
There are not cheaper solutions ?

vinny
15-May-2014, 08:18
how cheap do you want? the fresh color stuff is $1 per exposure. Nothing is cheap about large format.

Winger
15-May-2014, 08:20
Yes, the Polaroid 405 fits in the F1. The only B&W instant film still being made that will fit in this camera (AFAIK) is the Fuji 3000B, but get some fast because it's about to go away. Freestyle currently has some, but it may be the last shipment of it they'll ever get. It's 17.99 USD for 10 sheets. I have no idea about European suppliers, sorry. The color version 100C, is still being made.